Am I Real?

If there’s a line between myself and what I do …
Could you find it for me?
I cannot tell where I begin to understand, or distance you
From kindness in me

I can be right and be so wrong
HE likes my love more than my song
But when you sting, and I forgive,
Will you not see the way you live?

And all this time I try so hard
To think what’s right and pleases God
While crying out for something that will reveal
That though I take a million hits
And I’m forgiven when at odds
The thing I want is to be told that I am real
And I count too!

Lived all my life inside this fishbowl that I wear
Afraid of speaking out
Don’t want to dishonour my Lord, but plagued by fear
Someone will tip it out

Should I be Doormat in my rush
To avoid ever being Judge
And when I’m real and anger’s in
Have I committed one more sin?

And all this time I try so hard
To do what’s right and pleases God
While crying out for something that will reveal
That though I take a million hits
And I’m forgiven when at odds
The thing I want is to be told that I am real

And all this time I try so hard
To say what’s right and pleases God
While crying out for something that will reveal
That though I take a million hits
And I’m forgiven when at odds
The thing I want is to be told that I am real
And I count …

When comes the day I get to stand up for myself?
Or am I meant to leave those battles on HIS shelf?
Am I still trying to please all people all the time?
And can I own even emotions classed as crime?

And all this time I try so hard
To feel what’s right and pleases God
While crying out for something that will reveal
That though I take a million hits
My pride forgiven when at odds
The thing I want is to be told that I am real
And I count too!

(c) 2010 Rebekah Robinson

Leave a Reply

