Blood (They Are Us)

(C) Rebekah Robinson 2014

Can we really love others as God does, until we truly understand that they are as much His children as we are? This song goes out to all who do their part to alleviate poverty, pierce darkness and share hope, and especially to World Outreach International.

My daughter is standing on corners

My son is languishing in jail

My father’s entrapped by a debt he can’t pay

And my mother is under the flail

My cousin is broken by customs

My brother must dance to their tune

My aunt and my uncle have sold out my sister

To somehow attain one more boon

And don’t make me talk about the baby

I might cry

When I look at the stars, I remember

It’s everyone’s sky

My grandma knits rugs for the homeless

My inlaws take hugs to the home

My nephew buys surgery, seed corn and schools

And my niece prays, “Which field should I roam?”

So please let me talk about the Saviour

Down from on high

When I look at the stars, I remember

Who scattered the sky

And my family is dying and needing

And they are the lost

One piece of truth and a whole lot of love

Is a very small cost

I gotta do something

They’re my blood

I gotta give something

They are us, they are us

So please let me talk about the Saviour

Yes, I might cry

When I look at the stars, I remember

It’s everyone’s sky

I gotta do something

They’re my blood

I gotta give something

They are us, they are us, they are us

Leave a Reply

