Don’t Sweat The Small Stuff

Ever prayed things like, “Lord, please find me a parking space,”  “Lord, where are my keys?” or “Lord, it would be so great if they have that blouse in my size”?

Sometimes I feel guilty bringing such minutiae to the Lord.  Why should I expect Him to concern Himself with directing me whether to take the main road or the freeway?  One pastor has said, “God is my Father – not my mother.”  Yet more than once in Scripture He uses a feminine metaphor for Himself, and always in protective and provident mode.

The crux of my anxiety is this: I have a solid belief that God wants the best for me (within His larger plan).  Yet there are believers all over the world who are being imprisoned, tortured, and killed for their faith.  How does finding my lost earring fit into that picture?  Should I feel ashamed to ask?

As a (very imperfect) parent myself, there are days when my kids bring me the small stuff.  And there are days when they bring me the big stuff.  There are also days when, in my job as a chaplain, I am confronted with the VERY LARGE stuff that makes my own kids’ problems pale by comparison.  Yet I am not indifferent to my children’s small needs … though their whining is most unwelcome!  God, however, doesn’t have bad days, down days, desperately-need-some-chocolate days.  He takes all comers, all the time.

If I take a leaf out of that book, then perhaps it’s okay for me to bring the small stuff to God, provided I do so within the wider picture that all I have is His, I am His, and He has bigger fish to fry.  I may be His princess – but He has multiple princesses to care for!  He works with the entire universe, from the tiniest quark to the vastest space between galaxies.  Within that spectrum, He’s given us, undeserved, all things for life and godliness.

Romans 8:31-35 says: If God is for us, who can be against us?  He who did not spare his own Son, but gave Him up for us all—how will He not also, along with Him, graciously give us all things? Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen? It is God who justifies. Who then is the one who condemns? No one. Christ Jesus who died—more than that, who was raised to life—is at the right hand of God and is also interceding for us. Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?

All is GIFT.  So whether I’m throwing myself into His arms or throwing a tantrum, I have to remember Humility,Obedience and Gratitude, if I am not to be a H.O.G.!  I am sure He’d rather have me turn to Him than away from Him, no matter what it is. He must be the only parent in the history of the universe that actually encourages nagging.  And His “no” is never arbitrary.

Let’s remember to pray for those being persecuted, that nothing will ever be wasted, that they will endure.  Though God must sometimes permit suffering when it’s part of a much bigger, complicated pattern that’s going somewhere – like a mother, He will never be indifferent to it.  If He is willing to be so involved that He can take a moment to remind me to turn off the iron, then He’s not going to miss the memo if I get cancer.

Leave a Reply

