Kingdom Stuff

I like to read ….. mostly fiction. Sometimes it takes me several months to read a non-fiction book, while I can demolish a novel in two days. Guess I’m geared that way … but lately I’ve been handed some very, VERY good books.

The first was “Walk On – the spiritual journey of U2” by Steve Stockman. It was so good I couldn’t put it down. I sometimes wonder if Bono is a bona fide prophet. After all, he does what the prophets of old did: speak to kings and nations on behalf of justice and mercy.

The second was “The Treasure In The Field – digging to discover the Kingdom of God” by Brian Watts. My brother in NZ procured this book for me, possibly through SLT, though how they got it is a mystery – even Amazon only have second-hand copies, and they want $95 for them!

“Treasure” is the most incredible treatise on the Kingdom of God. It’s really challenged my outlook and eschatology. For so long, I’ve had a fatalistic, pessimistic, defeatist attitude: “Christ will win the war of the ages, but only by the skin of His teeth.” It turns out that this isn’t Biblical. And I’m so encouraged. What a relief! I’m inspired afresh to take my place in this Kingdom of yeast and tiny seeds, no longer seeing the small cut-out rock but instead seeing the mountain that, in time, will fill the whole earth. This alters not only the way I see the world, but also my attitude toward the possibilities of changing it.

There was so much in this book that I can’t list it all. Suffice it to say that my planet is swiftly tilting. 🙂 Let’s see what happens.

Leave a Reply

