Patterns

Pieces of my heart are walking

Changing, growing up, and talking

Nothing is the same once you give birth

Sleepless nights and dreams deferred

Priorities moved and blurred

All of it eclipsed by what you’re worth!

‘Cos your smile still melts me

Knowing you surely helps me

See the Father heart of God so clear

I know

I’d keep God up at night

If He ever slumbered

All our hairs are numbered

And He watches over us

I keep trusting in Him

To see you safely grow up

Knowing He will show up

In the patterns of our lives

Manners, tone and attitudes

Dodging one anothers’ moods

I am always in your face, I know

Curfews, homework, sports and chores

Constant advice, rides to stores

Staying close while learning to let go

Beyond all the stuff that’s hurting

May there be a grace so certain

That you see how much you mean to me

We all know

I’d keep God up at night

If He ever slumbered

All our days are numbered

And He watches over us

I keep trusting in Him

To see you safely grow up

Knowing God will show up

In the patterns of our lives

(c) 2013 Rebekah Robinson

Leave a Reply

