Sidelines

(with vague-ish hat-tipping to Brooke & Missy)

(c) 2009 Rebekah Robinson

This one I got when the promises broke
The scalpel for healing was slitting my throat
And all that I asked was my offer be took
And everything go by the book

This one I got ‘cos I wasn’t prepared
For drifting or drafting or being unshared
I could not let go and I could not move on
The next time I looked, they were gone

So I’m scarred
And I’m seamed
I get up
I get creamed
But there’s just one way to get through life unscathed:
It’s to sit on the sidelines …

This one I got ‘cos I followed the call
I’d rather have this than have not gone at all
It’s proof I’m a warrior who stands in the fight
Even in the face of the night

This one is fresh, but will one day be tough
To strengthen my weakness; I hope it’s enough
To ingrain compassion for those in this boat
And help them to stay afloat

So I’m scarred
And I’m seamed
I get up
I get creamed
But there’s just one way to get through life unscathed:
It’s to sit on the sidelines
I can’t sit on the sidelines!

So I’m scarred
And I’m seamed
I grow grey
Hatching dreams
I cry and I kneejerk, I panic and pale
Won’t sit on the sidelines …
Not born for the sidelines.

Leave a Reply

